Home Sport Ballan Bowls Champs

Ballan Bowls Champs

2015-2016 Most Valuable Player winners Division 3 Dave Myers & Division 9 Eddy Pitcher.

By Scot Nicholson

DAVE Myers has won the 2015-2106 Ballan Bowling Club Division Three Most Valuable Player award in a tight vote count.

The star skip, which has previously won six men’s singles championships, received 35-votes from a panel of opposition bowlers during the regular season. Fellow skip Neville Smith, came agonisingly close as he polled 34-votes to be crowned runner up. Myers said that it was an honour to be awarded the MVP award. “It’s always nice to be recognised by your peers in the bowling fraternity as being consistent for the majority of the season.” Myers said, “Most of the time it’s a bit of a raffle as to who gets votes here and there, but it was a close finish which made the evening even more exciting.” After a stellar season Eddy Pitcher, won the Division Nine MVP award with a total of 24-votes.The runner up, Charlie Farrugia trailed by only two-votes to finish on 22.

This capped of an impressive season for the Division Nine side that successfully won three premierships in a row.

Ballarat District Bowls Division Chairman Ross Jones presented the premiership plaque to the club and said that he sees a bright future for Ballan.

“It’s hard to win one, let alone three premierships so it’s a credit to all of the members of Ballan and the BDBD looks forward to seeing the club moving onto even greater achievements.” Jones said.

Other championship winners during the season included:

Men’s Singles Championship: Brad Coffey

Women’s Singles Championship: Donna Robinson

Pairs Championship: Chris Love & Neville Smith

21 Up Championship: John Couch

100 Up Championship: Dave Scott.