Home Sport Ballarat Rush Announce Co-captains for 2015

Ballarat Rush Announce Co-captains for 2015

Rush co-captain Abbey Wehrung.

LAST week the Harvey Norman Ballarat Rush and GMHBA Ballarat Miners launched their 2015 SEABL season with a family fun night at the MARS® MINERDOME.

Rush co-captain Kristy Rinaldi
Rush co-captain Kristy Rinaldi

Elite Teams Chairman Nick Grylewicz welcomed everyone and announced that 2014 saw Basketball Ballarat donate in excess of $81,000 worth of tickets, corporate boxes, season memberships and merchandise as well as volunteered over 600 hours at local schools and community groups and that the is looking to expand on this in 2015.

The night’s formalities continued with the introduction of the Harvey Norman Ballarat Rush. Head Coach. Peter Cunningham said that he is looking forward to the season and that his side has been strengthen with the inclusion of Olivia Thompson, Shanae Greaves and Jess May all coming from the WNBL side Melbourne Boomers. Cunningham went onto announce his leadership group for season 2015 which will be headed by co-captains Abbey Wehrung and Kristy Rinaldi. Rinaldi who was captain in 2014 and is tipped to break the all-time games played record by a Rush player will share the duties with a young Wehrung who returns to the Rush after her debut season with the University of Canberra Capitals. Wehrung was able to train and play with some of the world’s best players in Lauren Jackson and Abby Bishop and said “I have learnt a lot off the girls up their about how to be a good leader and I hope I can bring that back to the Rush”

Cunningham added Wehrung and Rinaldi will be supported by May, Bronte Clarke and the Youth League Rush captain Claire Constable. Cunningham said “It’s important to have a group that goes across the two teams so that girls can see that we are one and we are striving to achieve the same goals.”