Home Sport Elaine Cricket Club made it a trifecta

Elaine Cricket Club made it a trifecta


ELAINE Cricket Club has completed the trifecta with the juniors winning the Ballarat Cricket Association U13’s premiership. The senior team won back to back flags in 2012/13 and 2013/14.

Milo cricket was introduced at Elaine in 2011/12 which attracted 35 children and set the seeds in place for a cricket revival. What started out as a pipe dream to field a junior cricket team between the towns of Elaine and Meredith 3 years ago, with the 1st training session at Meredith attracting as few as 5 kids, has turned into a roaring success story. The boys from the bush toppled the best city teams Ballarat could muster and they took home the silver ware on the 22nd March. The fielding in the grand final was brilliant with two run outs, with direct hits from 20 metres out from Kyle Etteridge and Lachlan Baker.

Grand finals are won and lost in those moments. After a batting collapse early and the mums and dads biting their finger nails Seamus Dunne and Kyle Etteridge steadied the ship. Nicholas Pantzidis was catching everything and Angus Hogarth took the catch of the year and Aaron Miller clean bowled wicket number 10 to bring home the bacon.

A big thanks to Daryl Wells for coaching the boys in his 2nd year as coach. The club couldn’t recruit an assistant coach this year but Dazza didn’t need one. He took the boys to the top single handedly. The talent in this side has to be seen to be believed. ECC will field 2 junior teams next season -. an U14 team and an U16 team in the BCA. Brilliant season lads. You’ve done yourselves and your community proud.

The team:

Seth Ludowyk, Kyle Etteridge, Lachlan baker, Angus Hogarth, Nicholas Pantzidis, Seamus Dunne , Hamish Macdonald, Aaron Miller, Kenneth Medlyn, Trent Miller, Dylan Lyons , Ben McPherson, Tom Flood, Brody Wells, Kade Wells, Toby Bilston.