Home Sport Nathan Horbury has taken out the 2017 Henderson Medal

Nathan Horbury has taken out the 2017 Henderson Medal

A delighted Nathan Horbury the winner of the 2017 Henderson Medal.

By Sam Young REDAN’S Nathan Horbury has taken out the 2017 Henderson Medal after polling 22 votes with the classy midfielder being acknowledged as Ballarat’s best for the first time in his career.

Horbury finished three votes clear after polling one of his five best on grounds for the season in the last round against reigning premiers Bacchus Marsh. He also finished in front of the cobras Scott Sherlock and Darley’s Brain Graham who both polled 19 votes for the evening.

Both Graham and Sherlock missed chunks of the season as well. Graham had a stint in the VFL with Essendon, whilst Sherlock injured his hamstring in the opening term against Darley back in Round 15, resulting in Sherlock missing the remainder of the home and away season. During his acceptance speech, Horbury thanked the Redan Football Club and humbly accepted the award saying, “There’s some fantastic players in this league so it’s a real honour…I don’t know what to really say I am lost for words.”

Horbury’s win may come as a real surprise to many with a lot pundits think 2017 Courier Player of the Year; Nick Peters, would take out the crown. The Lakers on-baller finished with 16 votes with teammate and last year’s winner, Ben Taylor, only managing eight votes this season. Other results from the night saw Sunbury’s Chloe Curran and Anthony Sammut but narrowly take out the A-Grade Netball and Reserve Best and Fairest respectively; whilst in the under-18 Best and Fairest there was a remarkable 4-way tie with Leo Nunn, Aaron Blade, Kevin Barker and Matt Sammut all sharing the award. First year coach Heath Scotland was named Coach of the Year to go along with his 18 votes which had him finishing third in the Best Fairest and controversially his former Carlton teammate, Brendon Fevola, was left out of the Team of Year, despite winning the leagues goalkicking award. Nathan Horbury also goes on to create history, as he joins an elusive as now a Henderson Medallist but also a junior Robert Allen Medallist which he won back in 2008 when he was applying his trade at the Mount Clear Junior Football Netball Club.


BACCHUS MARSH: Scott Sherlock 19, Dean Heta 13, Declan Phyland 8, Tyson Shea 8, Matt Denham 6, Logan Blundell 5, Jackson Bolton 3, Jadyn Trowsdale 3, Jarrah Maksymow 3, Alec Del Papa 2, Hamish Coulton 2, Trent Angwin 2, Brenton Payne 1, Daniel Burton 1, Rhys McNay 1

BALLARAT: Daniel Kennedy 12, Shane Hutchinson 5, Nicholas O’Farrell 3, Sam James 3, Joel Antonio 2, Tyler Constable 2, Jesse Marshall 1, Nicholas Garner 1

DARLEY: Brian Graham 19, Heath Scotland 18, Luke Delahey 8, Luther Baker 5, Dan Roy 3, Kyle Docherty 3, Matthew Inglis 3, Rhys Ellis 3, Christopher Graham 2, Jackson Carrick 2, Brad Inglis 1, Dane Grenfell 1, Harley Inglis 1

EAST POINT: Jake McQueen 13, Paul Koderenko 12, Daniel Tung 4, MickitjaRotumah-Onus 3, Bryson McDougall 2, Clay Bilney 2

LAKE WENDOUREE: Nick Peters 16, Lucas Anderson 13, Ben Hayes 9, Ben Taylor 8, Jordan Alexander 7, Ashley Simpson 4, Angus Kirby 3, Bailey Edwards 3, Nathan Pring 3, Arthur Armstrong 2, Jack Elkington 1, Sean Willmott 1, Steve Clifton 1

MELTON: Ben Archard 9, Ryan Davis 6, Angus Grigg 4, Connor Griffiths 4, Daniel Walker 3, BraedanKight 2, Dillon Sharp 2, Dyson Stevens 2, Jake Gleeson 2, Michael Licciardo 2

MELTON SOUTH: Mark Lynch 17, Nick Kommer 8, Mitchell Banner 7, Ben Sortino 3, Craig Searle 3

NORTH BALLARAT CITY: Mitchell Gilbert 8, Josh Bromley-Lynch 6, Daniel Jones 5, Daniel Kilpatrick 3, Ryan Luke 3, Simon McCartin 3, Joseph Symons 2, William Young 2, Jordyn Burke 1, Sam Willian 1

REDAN: Nathan Horbury 22, Callum Currie 6, Dean Chester 6, Mitchell Phelps 6, Damian Horbury 4, Keenan Waterbury 3, Ryan Waight 3, Ben Schiltz 2, Chris Giampaolo 2, Dean Matthews 2, Grant Bell 2, Liam Hoy 2, Patrick Britt 2, Orren Stephenson 2, Nicholas Hausier 1, Patrick Fitzgibbon 1

SEBASTOPOL: Brett Goodes 3, Harli Givvens 3, Lochie Huppatz 2, Ben McLeod 1, Ryan Noether 1

SUNBURY: Andrew Duhau 13, David Kovacevic 9, Alik Magin 9, Tom Donaghue 8, Patrick MacDonough 4, Gregory Hay 3, Timothy Hill 3, Michael Edwards 3, Ben Said 2, Jayden Eales 2, Joshua Guthrie 2, Adam Short 1, Dean Muir 1, Nathan Bridgland 1

Previous articleTHE DUCHESS
Next articleBacchus Marsh had Lakers on the backfoot