Home Sport Shaun Campbell wins CHFL Best and Fairest

Shaun Campbell wins CHFL Best and Fairest

Ballan onballer Shaun Campbell takes out the best and fairest award in the Central Highlands Football and Netball League.

BALLAN’S Shaun Campbell has taken home the Geoff Taylor Medal in Central Highlands Football League Best and Fairest vote count. With a total of 34 votes Campbell’s tally is the second highest total in a single season throughout the league’s history. Campbell was nine votes clear of Ferraro, with Springbank spearhead Paul McMahon a further three behind. Hepburn’s Ricky Ferraro was nine behind with a total of 25 and Springbank’s Paul McMahon rounded off the top three with 22. Campbell was recruited from Ainslie this season after being asked to come to Ballan and have a kick. ‘This is a great honour,” he said.

“I have been taken aback and this is a great surprise.” The Reserves Best and Fairest was shared by Springbank’s Ben Beasley and Gordon’s Luke Toohey with 21 votes with Newlyn’s Jesse Eastwell three behind on 18. The Courier’s Central Highlands Football League player of the year award was shared by Smythesdale ruckman Rylan Rattley and Newlyn’s assistant coach Dan Wehrung with 35 votes, followed by Michael Cummings (Daylesford) and Shaun Campbell (Ballan) on 29. In other presentations Springbank was named the most successful club taking home the Merv and Mary Howard Champion Club shield. Gordon forward Steve Nicholson was awarded the Shane Everard Memorial Goal Kicking Award, 66 goals in the seniors’, while Ballan’s Bernard Whelan was at the top in the Reserves with 81.